An Italian Fall

20140827-233651.jpg

 

Being in the kitchen is heaven to me. If I have one regret it is that I did not go to culinary school and share my passion for food with the world. But, for now, it is a family affair!

Me and mini have wrestled with time lately, but one area we never let slip away is our meals! This week I showed her how I make one of many different variations of our Sicilian meatballs. Our sauce was our own, and made with crushed tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, basil leaves, half a cup of wine and a roasted red pepper puree. I make a lot and freeze it so it is ready to go.

These meatballs are a little different, and I adore anything out of the norm. I use veal , pork, chicken and beef. Then we dipped three pieces of bread in milk, wrung them out, tore them up and added the to the meat. We needed two eggs. Then, about a cup of romano cheese, a tablespoon of brown sugar, crushed red pepper, and chopped currants or raisins. Yes, raisins! ( No one will know they are there..you need to chop them very fine). We minced 4 cloves of garlic and grated half of a red onion into the mix. I always use a coarse sea salt, fresh pepper and dried basil.

Mini me formed some large shapes, and we baked them in a muffin pan at 350 for about 15 minutes, or until they are just started to keep shape. I spooned them out into sauce and continued to simmer until they were cooked through. It is important to check the sauce often and not let it stick.

We serve the meat separately from any grains, but we did make some tagliatelle with butter and lemon. The different tastes and textures make this an incredible Saturday meal. Even better, we had plenty left over. If only I could bottle the smell of the kitchen!

 

Creative Commons License
This work by menaanne.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

4 thoughts on “An Italian Fall”

  1. Never too late to follow your dreams! The meatballs sound great to me, but my husband would get chill bumps if he knew there raisins in them…haha!

  2. This looks so delicious!! I’m gonna bookmark this to try for later. I’m gonna try to put some spaghetti with it too! Thank you so much for sharing.
    Love,
    zee ❀

  3. Anyone who takes the time to read and look through your blog certainly can tell you are very talented at anything you put your mind to. Commitment is something that you have in your blood! If you have goal to attend culinary arts school, do catering, launch a food truck, or whatever your heart desires, you will surely succeed! Definitely going to have to try your meatballs! Yum!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

