Lighter Pho Fare with Mini Me

wpid-2015-01-28_18.46.00.jpgMidweek, me and mini me try something out of our comfort zone to break up the monotony of our staple recipes. Routine bores me.  The chill factor climbed for us this month and heavy comfort foods are not comforting for my thighs! Sacrificing flavor for tight jeans is not my style either, so I found  a way to take my Italian cravings to the far east.

With some organic pork and ginger, our love for meatballs met my love for Vietnamese Pho.  While this traditional noodle soup is filled with mixed meats and seafood, portions can be heavy and the flavors can sometimes overwhelm each other.

wpid-20150128_184207-1.jpgThe meatballs we made are quite simple;  garlic, shallot, ginger, pork, salt, pepper and nutmeg. I bake them at 400 for about 15 minutes. For the stock, I cook down some fresh ginger, garlic, and shallot in olive oil and add an organic vegetable stock. A little lemongrass, fresh spinach, and rice noodles or even thin spaghetti, and you have a simple not-so-Pho, Pho Sure!! 🙂

I always garnish my bowl with lime wedges and a lot of cilantro on the side,  and a little siracha goes a long way. Even better, I made too many ginger meatballs, so I used leftovers for skewers with some pineapple. YUM !Papaya or mango would  be a great accompaniment as well.  This very basic recipe, is something to keep in your back pocket  and is lighter for all things in the back! 🙂

Mangia!

Creative Commons License
This work by menaanne.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

 

 

 

One thought on “Lighter Pho Fare with Mini Me”

Leave a Reply

